Paleo Banana Carrot Muffins

Standard

I sure didn’t appreciate my freezer enough until it was broken and we couldn’t get in touch with our landlord for an entire week to get it fixed! My daily morning protein smoothie became a warmer much less appetizing juice of sorts and all of the food we had in there was quickly defrosting in the Topanga Summer heat. As some of you may know, I really loathe wasting food (thanks to mom! ;)) So when I noticed the  fully thawed shredded carrots in the freezer and the overly ripe bananas on my kitchen counter (I now fully appreciate my frozen bananas), I had to put them to use. I decided to make some banana carrot muffins (sort of similar to my primal carrot cupcakes, but less sweet and without dairy for all you paleo folks) which were a great breakfast alternative while I impatiently waited for frozen fruit to return to my blender.

IMAG1103

Paleo Banana Carrot Muffins (Difficulty-Intermediate; Makes ~12 muffins)

  • 2 c blanched almond flour
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 organic free-range eggs, at room temp.
  • 1/4 c organic pure maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin organic coconut oil
  • 1 c organic carrots, grated
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 c unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2/3 c coarsely toasted walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 325° F and line a muffin pan.  In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. In the bowl of a stand mixer,  gently mix together eggs, maple syrup, and oil on low speed. Fold the carrots, mashed bananas, and shredded coconut into the wet ingredients. Gradually add the dry ingredients and fold in the toasted walnuts.

IMAG1098 IMAG1095 IMAG1097

Divide the batter evenly between 12 cupcake liners. Bake at 325° F for about 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out dry.

IMAG1102

Add comments!

