Basil Cannelini Hummus

Standard

One of my favorite LA summer attractions is the beach concert series at Santa Monica Pier. Every Thursday evening they offer a free concert where everyone sets out a blanket in the sand and brings a picnic to share with friends amidst the delightful ocean breeze–sounds pretty perfect, right? So last week I was trying to think of what to make and I remembered this basil cannelini hummus I had seen on Pinterest. I thought it would be the perfect healthy summer snack with an assortment of raw crisp veggies. Generally I don’t eat any legumes or beans being on the Primal diet, but I thought I could make an exception for this occasion. Check out the paleo chocolate chip coconut cookies I made for dessert!

1001133_10101598613063410_2098898345_n

Basil Cannelini Hummus (Slightly Adapted from Greatist) (Difficulty-Easy, Makes about 2 cups hummus)

  • 1 can organic cannellini beans
  • 1 handful of fresh organic basil leaves
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. tahini
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • /4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 lemon, juiced 

Blend all ingredients except for olive oil in a food processor until smooth. Add oil while food processor is still running. Serve with raw organic cauliflower, celery, cucumber, and red bell pepper!

Add comments!

