White Chocolate Key Lime Pie

Standard

I have always loved key lime pie, but when I realized it is usually made with sweetened condensed milk, I shied away from making it myself. For some reason, it just really freaks me out to have milk sitting in a can on a shelf. So when I saw this recipe for White Chocolate Key Lime Pie on Pinterest (no condensed milk included!), I thought what a great simple recipe, and easy enough to make Primal! When I visited Boston, my amazing coworkers from my old job there threw me a little potluck dinner party. When I lived there we would often have these events, and we always had such a fun time making new dishes for each other. Generally I’d bring dessert, so it was only right for me to keep that tradition going. We were going to barbecue so I thought this was a perfect opportunity to test the recipe. Not surprisingly, Boston decided 4 days of straight rain was most appropriate for Memorial Day Weekend, so our barbecue quickly changed to a pizza party. But I wasn’t giving up the pie! Had I not been so lazy and lethargic from the rainy weather maybe I would have attempted a Primal version. Alas, I stuck to the simple recipe for the first go round, though, for a primal version I would simply swap the graham cracker crumbs for almond meal (and maybe add some coconut), search for the most natural white chocolate I could find (with no corn syrup of course), and substitute the sugar for honey. Since the white chocolate is already so sweet you wouldn’t need much.

**My apologies for the pictures–my friend’s kitchen was not ideally lit for blogging, but I am VERY grateful I had a cozy place to stay and kitchen to use.

IMAG0432

White Chocolate Key Lime Pie (Adapted from Kitchen Simplicity) (Difficulty-Easy; Serves 12)

For the Crust:

  • 1 1/4 c. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 c. macadamia nuts, toasted and chopped
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, melted

For the Filling:

  • 1 c. organic whipping cream
  • 11 oz. white chocolate
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tsp. organic lime zest
  • 1/3 c. lime juice
  • Garnish: lime slivers and chopped white chocolate

Make the Crust: Preheat the oven to 350°F. Toast macadamia nuts until lightly toasted, 5-7 minutes, and set aside to cool. Combine, graham cracker crumbs, chopped macadamia nuts, sugar and melted butter in a medium bowl. Press evenly onto the bottom and up the sides of a pie plate. Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 30 minutes before filling.

IMAG0416 (1) IMAG0418 (1) IMAG0419 IMAG0420

Make the Filling: Melt together cream and white chocolate in a small saucepan set over low heat. Remove from heat, stir in sour cream, lime zest and juice. Pour into prepared pie crust. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 8 hours, or overnight.

Garnish with limes slices and chopped chocolate if desired.

IMAG0429 IMAG0433

Add comments!

