Almost Primal Valentine Cookies

Standard

Every Valentine’s Day I bake my favorite linzer hearts recipe from my Aunt Nancy. So this year I wondered if I could make a grain-free linzer heart. I made the dough replacing flour with almond meal, and confectioner’s sugar with a little honey. Even after refrigerating the dough for several hours, I was able to roll the dough out, but it was too wet for the hearts to hold their shape. Alas, I settled for round almond ‘shortbread’ cookies and made a little heart shaped well for Penzey’s Raspberry Enlightenment, which is not so primal but I only used about 1/2 tsp. per cookie so I don’t think its the worst thing you could eat. They were quite tasty, but I do have to say I miss the crumbly flaky texture of the decadent linzer heart sandwiches. Oh well! Maybe next year I’ll find the solution. In the meantime, enjoy these cute little treats!

IMAG0329

Grain Free Shortbread Cookies (Difficulty-Easy; Makes 12-14 cookies)

1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature

2 Tbsp. organic honey

1 tsp. vanilla

2 c. almond meal

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

raspberry jam or Raspberry Enlightenment from Penzeys

small heart shaped cookie cutter

Cream butter and honey together on medium speed with a stand or handheld mixer. Add the vanilla and mix until incorporated. Add the almond meal, baking soda, and salt and mix until dough is formed.

IMAG0324 IMAG0323

Wrap the dough in saran wrap and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Roll about 1 Tbsp. of dough into balls and lightly press down onto a baking sheet with your fingers so they are flattened. Bake for 9-10 minutes. Transfer cookies to a rack or wax paper to cool.

IMAG0327

When cool, use a small heart shaped cookie cutter to make a well in the center of the cookie. Fill with raspberry jam or Raspberry Enlightenment. Enjoy with your loved ones! ❤

IMAG0330

Add comments!

