Spiced Nuts-For Easy Primal Snacking!

Standard

Every now and then I find myself really craving a salty crunchy snack so instead of caving and grabbing a bag of grain-loaded chips or crackers, I figured why not add the salty spicy flavor I’m craving to my primal snack of mixed nuts? There are many recipes out there, but I particularly enjoyed this one with simple, yet spicy flavors! This makes a great snack to take to work or on the go, or even to serve at your next cocktail or dinner party. I made it for all my beer nerd friends when I hosted our last beer tasting.

IMAG0262

Spiced Nuts (Courtesy of Elana’s Pantry) (Difficulty-Easy; Makes 2 cups)

  • ⅔ c. almonds
  • ⅔ c. pecans
  • ⅔ c. walnuts
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1-2 tsp. cumin
  • ½ tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • ½ tsp. coarse sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

Place nuts in a large cast-iron skillet over medium heat. Toast until lightly browned.

IMAG0261

While nuts are toasting, prepare spice mixture. Combine chili, cumin, black pepper and salt in a small bowl. IMAG0259

Add to skillet and toss until nuts are coated with spices. Try not to eat them all in one sitting-they are sneakily addictive!

Add comments!

