Holiday Fare- Addictive Ricotta Cookies

Standard

Happy Tuesday everyone! So I know it’s already mid-January and I have yet to share many of my holiday creations so I thought I’d post them all in one fell swoop for those that have been asking for particular recipes. That way I can get back to posting primal meals for a happy healthy 2013!  Below are links to some delicious holiday recipes to stash away for later. And for those of you that have been requesting more caveman eats, there are many to come (including some guilt free desserts)–just bear with me!IMAG0124

Addictively Delicious Ricotta Cookies (recipe below)

Snowy Coconut Roulade

Aunt Nancy’s Famous Gingerbread Cut-outs

Brussel Sprouts with Chestnuts and Brown Butter

Not-Your-Grandmothers Latkes

Ricotta Cookies (Difficulty: Easy; Makes ~4-6 dozen cookies)

These soft pillowy sweet and savory morsels are divine! I first tried them in college. My friend Kim and I would constantly dish on our favorite recipes and when she brought these into work one day I found myself unable to resist seconds, even thirds!  Luckily, she was generous with the recipe, although I have no idea where it originally came from. These are definitely a crowd pleaser so if you need to bake for the office or an event of some kind, these will never stear you wrong.

2 c. sugar

2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature

15oz. ricotta cheese

2 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs, at room temperature

4 c. flour

2 Tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

Sweet Glaze (recipe follows)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Beat sugar and butter until fluffy using a stand or handheld mixer, about 5 minutes. Beat in ricotta and vanilla until well combined. Add flour, baking powder, and salt until dough forms. Add eggs one at a time. Using an ice scream scoop or rounded tablespoon, places evenly sized balls of cookie dough on a baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown . Let cool  before frosting.

IMAG0122

Sweet Glaze (Difficulty- Easy)

1 1/2 c. confectioner’s sugar

3 Tbsp. milk

sugar crystals

Whisk ingredients in a medium sized bowl until well combined and you have a smooth, liquidy glaze. Top each cookie with a teaspoon of glaze. Sprinkle with your choice of sugar crystals or other candy decoration. I didn’t have any green sugar crystals in the house so I had to settle for red alone. Let frosting dry for 1 hour before serving.

IMAG0124

 

Add comments!

