Mixed Greens with Pear, Toasted Pecans, Bacon and Goat Cheese with Maple Balsamic Dressing

Standard

This salad was created for my fall dinner party. I had this amazing maple balsamic dressing in mind that reminds me of Fall in snowy Vermont. I got this recipe from my favorite little ski resort, The Green Mountain Inn, in Stowe, VT. If you are on the East coast or visiting, Stowe is an adorable little ski town that is completely white during the winter and is lined with cozy little shops and restaurants to explore after a long day on the trails. It is the perfect getaway for a long weekend. And I am particularly fond of the outdoor heated pool at the Green Mountain Inn and the Cactus Cafe, where oddly enough I’ve some of the ‘better’ Mexican food in the Northeast. Believe me, it is hard to come by. If you like spicy foods, and can really handle SPICY, try their homemade jalapeno poppers.

Stowe, VT

I typically make this dressing for a grilled chicken salad, but I wanted to use signature fall flavors aside from the usual squash, pumpkin, and apple. Pears don’t get quite as much hype this time of year, but they are definitely one of my fall favorites. In fact, one of my favorite seasonal items at Trader Joe’s is their Pear Cinnamon Cider– you have to try it! I also make a great cocktail with it that I will post soon.

IMAG0242

For the Dressing:  (Adapted by The Whip Restaurant at The Green Mountain Inn)
1/2 cup organic low sodium soy sauce
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup organic pure maple syrup (I prefer Trader Joe’s Grade B)
1/8 cup organic honey
1/8 cup Dijon mustard
1 small clove garlic
1/2 tsp. ginger
salt & pepper to taste
1/2 cup olive oil
 
Combine soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, honey, Dijon, garlic, and ginger in a blender and pulse until well combined. Slowly add the olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
 
For the Salad:
 
1lb organic mixed greens
 
1/2 lb. organic applewood smoked bacon
 
1 cup pecans, toasted
 
6 oz. organic goat cheese
 
2-3 organic pears, thinly sliced
 
These flavors compliment each other very well and go perfectly with the maple dressing. Definitely one of my new favorite salads!
IMAG0243 
One response »

  1. Pingback: A Festive Fall Dinner Party « The Kitchen Faerie

Add comments!

